Bach in Black View full size

Bach in Black


Year 2016

More details

12,99 €


ACHILLE SUCCI, Alto Sax and Bass Clarinet

MARIO MARZI, Soprano, Alto and Baritone Sax


Tackling Bach’s music is a diffi cult task, and doing so with unusual instruments may sound like a heresy, to say the least.

Our desire to explore some of the great German master’s classics, however, was stronger than the doubts that inevitably arise when approaching these scores of pure, complex, engaging and communicative music.

With great respect, but also with a certain amount of courage, we have attempted to cast a different light onto some of the most beautiful scores ever writt en for solo instruments (violin, cello and flute), trying to emphasize their polyphonic and contrapuntal aspect. We had great fun in changing the rules of the game while playing it. Our intent was to bring together two seemingly distant worlds: united in the pursuit of beauty, we fused the Baroque with styles and articulations typical of the Afro-American contemporary universe.

We have no claim to truth—just our pleasure, and the desire to emphasize the magic and purity of these works in an unusual way: perfect architectures, music in its purest form, where it is not the instruments that count, nor the musicians, just the generating idea.


Mario Marzi

Translated by Roberta Marchelli



Saxophonist, clarinetist and composer was recently reviewed by Bill Shoemaker in the “Giornale della musica” as one of the european musicians to be followed in the next 10 years and journalist Mario Gamba describes him as a “genius of the Italian Jazz”.

Among the many Italian and foreign artists he worked with there are Uri Caine, Ralph Alessi, Silvie Courvoisier, Steve Swell, Louis Sclavis, Ernst Reijseger, Pierre Dorge, David Liebman, Franco D’Andrea, Giorgio Gaslini, Ett ore Fioravanti, Simone Guiducci and Giancarlo Tossani; with many of them also took part in several recording sessions, including two CDs as a leader: “Shiva’s dance” and “Terra” and a duet with Salvatore Maiore “Pequenas Flores do inferno”.

He founded with Fabrizio Puglisi and Alberto Capelli the “Atman” group, which has produced two CDs (“Atman” and “Puntolinea”); with pianist Christopher Culpo realized the CD “Fresh Frozen”, which also featured tuba player Oren Marshall, and the recent “Thawing Mammoth”.

Also recently published “Three Branches” with the eponymous trio and “Sound Protection” with Silvia Bolognesi’s “JuJu Sound”.

Achille Succi is also very active in the fi eld of high musical education since 2006; He is currently chairman of Jazz saxophone at the Conservatory of Cagliari, and since 2012 is a professor at Siena Jazz University.

He also holds many workshops and master classes of jazz and improvisation in diff erent Conservatories and italian and foreign musical institutions, including the Siena Jazz summer workshops (from 2001) and the “European Jazz School” in Marburg, Germany, in addition to being professor of improvisation techniques at the annual masterclass of bass clarinet and electronic music at the Milan Conservatory.


MARIO MARZI, winner of nine national and four international competitions, has performed with the most important symphonic orchestras, amongst them the “Orchestra Sinfonica RAI di Torino”, “Accademia naz. di Santa Cecilia”, “Arena di Verona”, “Teatro Comunale di Firenze”, “Teatro alla Fenice di Venezia”, “Orchestra della Svizzera Italiana” and the “Caracas Symphony Orchestra”.

Since twenty years he has been working with the “Teatro alla Scala” and with the “Filarmonica della Scala” under the baton of the nowadays leading conductors R. Muti, C. M. Giulini, G. Prètre, L. Maazel, L. Berio, S. Bychkov, G. Sinopoli, W. Sawallisch, M. W. Chung, G. Dudamel, C. Abbado, R. Chailly and D. Harding.

He often plays with Mr. Riccardo Muti and is regularly invited to join Mr. Zubin Mehta and the “Orchestra del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino” on concert tours.

He has played at famous national and international festivals such as the “Biennale di Venezia”, “Settembre Musica”, “La Scala di Milano”, “Accademia Filarmonica di Roma” or the “Ravenna Festival”. Other concerts took place in Salzburg, Athens, Madrid, Saint Petersburg and Mexico City as well as in prestigious halls and theatres such as in the “Carnegie Hall” in New York, the “Suntory Hall” in Tokyo, the “Gewandhaus” in Leipzig, the “Musikverein” in Wien, the “Schauspielhaus” in Berlin, the “Lacma Museum” in Los Angeles, the “Grand National Theatre” of China-Beijing, the “European Parliament” in Brussels, the “Ciajkovskij Hall” in Moscow and the “Liceu” in Barcelona etc.

He devoted himself to XXth century repertoire and some of the most meaningful contemporary works for saxophone are dedicated to him.

He has recorded for EMI, Edipan, Stradivarius, Agorà, BMG and Sony Classical. His CD of the major saxophone concertos for soloist and orchestra, which he recorded with “G. Verdi Symphony Orchestra” conducted by H. Schellemberger, was recently released in Italy by Amadeus and is now internationally released on ARTS (München). He is Rico’s endorser.

Marzi teaches saxophone at “G. Verdi” conservatory in Milan, gives post-graduate courses and master classes in Oporto, Amsterdam, Lisboa, Frankfurt, Beijing, Wien, London, Washington, Sydney, Denver and Caracas, within the Abreu’s project (El Sistema).

Member of the jury in the main competition for the saxophone, including Dinant in 2010, he is responsible for Italy of Gerry Mulligan’s Publisher. He is also author of several educational scores for Carisch.

His book Il Saxofono Zecchini Ed. was published in October 2009.


A brief mention ... of the new CD ... "good listening"

    01. Preludio in Dom BWV 999 - Mario Marzi/Achille Succi - 4'13"
    02. Suite n.4 BWV 1010 - Preludio - Mario Marzi/Achille Succi - 4'16"
    03. Suite n.4 BWV 1010 - Allemanda - Mario Marzi/Achille Succi - 3'17"
    04. Suite n.4 BWV 1010 - Corrente - Mario Marzi/Achille Succi - 3'25"
    05. Suite n.4 BWV 1010 - Sarabanda - Mario Marzi/Achille Succi - 4'31"
    06. Suite n.4 BWV 1010 - Bourrée - Mario Marzi/Achille Succi - 5'32"
    07. Suite n.4 BWV 1010 - Giga - Mario Marzi/Achille Succi - 1'48"
    08. Invenzione a due voci n.6 BWV 777 - Mario Marzi/Achille Succi - 10'53"
    09. Partita BWV 1013 - Allemanda - Mario Marzi/Achille Succi - 4'27"
    10. Partita BWV 1013 - Corrente - Mario Marzi/Achille Succi - 2'46"
    11. Partita BWV 1013 - Sarabanda - Mario Marzi/Achille Succi - 6'08"
    12. Partita BWV 1013 - Bourrée inglese - Mario Marzi/Achille Succi - 1'52"
    13. Partita BWV 1002 - Double-Sbach - Mario Marzi/Achille Succi - 5'42"
    14. Sinfonia n.11 in Solm BWV 797 - Mario Marzi/Achille Succi - 3'55"
    15. Invenzione a due voci n.11 BWV 782 - Mario Marzi/Achille Succi - 4'51"
    16. Wabi - Mario Marzi/Achille Succi - 4'40"


Catalogo N°MAPCL 10045
Anno 2016

Produzione Esecutiva di MASSIMO MONTI

Distribuzione M.A.P. EDITIONS S.r.l.