Doubleface View full size




Year 2016

More details

12,99 €


for female voice and two pianists


Voice and Lyrics by Loredana D’Anghera

Music composed and performed by Massimiliano Damerini and Andrea Pozza

Conceived by Loredana D’Anghera



In 2013 Italian singer Loredana D’Anghera had an idea for a concert shared with classical music, songs, performers and composers.

The double use of singing coupling lyric repertoire and amplified voice in songs had already been tried two years previously in Time Machine, a first-time collaboration between Massimiliano Damerini composer-performer and Loredana D’Anghera. For that event the lyrics had been written by Vittorio Caratozzolo. The lyrics and music were an enormous “fake”, unmistakeably imitating some of ancient music’s greatest composers and poets like Monteverdi, Bach, Mozart, up to Debussy and Mahler, but also including Da Ponte, Rimbaud, Nietsche, as well as Piazzolla, Jobim and Burt Bacharach. Here Double Face focusses on all three artists, because Loredana plays a double role, not only as singer but also as the composer of the lyrics. The two pianists, Damerini and Pozza perform as classical pianist and jazzman respectively. Both of them composed adopting the same lyrics but naturally with different musical purposes. The only exceptions being that Damerini composed the music for Light-Extralight and Pozza for Disarmonie (Discordances).The final work has the feel of an “encore” about it. Partiam partiam (for female voice and four-hands piano) was composed specifically for us by Giorgio Gaslini, the Italian creator of total music, in other words music free from boundaries and constraints. We consider Gaslini, who unfortunately died in 2014, the spiritual father of our project.


Massimiliano Damerini

Born in Genoa, Massimiliano Damerini is considered one of the most representative pianists of his generation, and he was awarded the prestigious Abbiati Prize in 1992. Damerini has performed all over the world, from the Teatro alla Scala in Milan to the Herkules Saal in Munich, the Teatro Colón in Buenos Aires and the Vienna Konzerthaus. As a pianist, he has collaborated with the most important composers of the late twentieth century (Sciarrino, Berio, Nono, Donatoni, Di Bari, Lachenmann, De Pablo, Kurtag, Penderecki, etc.). As a composer, many of his works have been performed at important exhibitions and festivals. While his early works were influenced by Ligeti, he gradually shifted to a wider panorama echoing the historical XX century, with a particular reference to sound research. His especially remarkable works are: Quintetto for winds (1978), Preludio ad un atomo for violin and piano (1985); Für E. (1993), A Portrait of Bacon (1993), Lacrime di vetro (2002) for piano; Abstract Future (2000) for two pianos eight hands; Ritratto di signora (2003) for 4 cellos; Utopia (2008) for soprano, violin, cello and piano; Time machine (2011) for female voice, string quartet and piano; Et consumimur igni (2014) for cello and piano.


Loredana D’Anghera

La Spezia-born Loredana D’Anghera graduated in opera-singing and took a master’s degree in Artistic vocals from the University of Bologna. In addition to teaching opera, modern and jazz singing, she holds lectures as a researcher in vocal techniques and expert in singer-songwriting, which she teaches at the Ravenna Campus of the University of Bologna. Thanks to her remarkable vocal versatility, she is active all over Italy, often collaborating and performing with outstanding artists ranging from jazz to pop, from classical music to drama (including Ugo Pagliai and Paola Gassman). Her CDs include duets with such famous pop musicians as Lavezzi and Fortis, and several songs that such esteemed authors as Bungaro and Max Manfredi wrote for her. She recently worked on a song that the leader of the italian historical band Stadio Gaetano Curreri composed for her. RAI dedicated a special programme to her as a vocal artist and as the artistic director and talent scout of the ‘New Proposals’ Lunezia Award. She also worked as a columnist for Rai News 24 on the occasion of the Sanremo Song Festival. Her vocal flexibility allows her to tackle a vast repertoire ranging from Lieder to contemporary music. This peculiarity urged her towards an unprecedented project (Time Machine), written specifically for her voice by composer-pianist Massimiliano Damerini. In it, the lyrical and the natural voices are compared in a non-chronological journey that touches on a variety of musical and vocal styles.



Andrea Pozza

Genoa-born pianist Andrea Pozza has a solid national and international career: recognized by critics and audiences as one of the most representative figures currently on the jazz scene, he is an acclaimed protagonist in the Far East, America and Europe. As an eclectic musician, he tackles any repertoire with great ease. Andrea is both a charismatic frontman and an ideal partner for major artists, whom he meets with his innate empathy and interplay. His music is elegant and stylish; his pianism is rich and colourful, perfectly balanced between the solidity of a European style and the cool, seductive appeal of American sound. Andrea Pozza débuted at age 13, and has since performed with several jazz giants: Harry “Sweet” Edison, Bobby Durham, Chet Baker, Al Grey, George Coleman, Charlie Mariano, Lee Konitz, Sal Nistico, Massimo Urbani, Luciano Milanese and many others. He tours extensively across Europe at the helm of his various self-named ensembles, and regularly collaborates with Enrico Rava, Fabrizio Bosso, Scott Hamilton, Steve Grossman, Ferenc Nemeth, Bob Sheppard, Antony Pinciotti, Furio Di Castri and many others. Andrea Pozza has released several recordings.

For more info:



Recorded in february 2015 by Andrea Dolcino at INDIEHUB studios - Milan.


Massimiliano Damerini and Andrea Pozza played a Steinway mod.D 274 piano.


A brief mention ... of the new CD ... "good listening"
    01. Preludio (Solo Piano) - M. Damerini - 1'34"
    02. Regina - M. Damerini - L. D'Anghera- 2'18"
    03. Solitaria Io - M. Damerini - L. D'Anghera - 2'53"
    04. Vagare - M. Damerini - L. D'Anghera - 1'46"
    05. Intermezzo (Solo Piano) - M. Damerini - 1'29"
    06. …E il Mare - M. Damerini - L. D'Anghera - 4'11"
    07. Light Extralight - M. Damerini - L. D'Anghera - 2'17"
    08. Intermezzo - M. Damerini - 2'12"
    09. I Sogni - M. Damerini - L. D'Anghera - 2'21"
    10. Blue - M. Damerini - L. D'Anghera - 1'58"
    11. Musa - M. Damerini - L. D'Anghera - 2'33"
    12. Regina - A. Pozza - L. D'Anghera - 2'36"
    13. Solitaria Io - A. Pozza - L. D'Anghera - 3'30"
    14. Vagare - A. Pozza - L. D'Anghera- 4''20"
    15. …E il Mare - A. Pozza - L. D'Anghera - 3'15"
    16. Disarmonie - A. Pozza - L. D'Anghera - 4'37"
    17. I Sogni - A. Pozza - L. D'Anghera - 4'03"
    18. Blue - A. Pozza - L. D'Anghera - 4'34"
    19. Musa - A. Pozza - L. D'Anghera - 4'36"
    20. Partiam Partiam - G. Gaslini - 1'38"


Catalog N°MAPCL 10034
Year 2016

Executive Production

Distribution M.A.P. EDITIONS S.r.l.